Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Virus in files from free-codecs.com
TalkingSoft.com Forums > Free-Codecs.com = Codecs.com > About Free-Codecs.com
FigVam
My antivirus AVG found Trojan Horse Downloader.Zlob.ANW
in the file ffdshow-2546-gcc4.0.3-sse2.zip from free-codecs.com
euromix
Obviously, it's a false positive. Another one from AVG. Maybe it's time to get a better antivirus software...

Take a look here:
http://ffdshow.faireal.net/mirror/ffdshow/...ev2546-SSE2.exe


Note: we use to scan the files - with 2 antivirus solutions - before uploading them on servers.
quibbles
QUOTE(euromix @ Jun 6 2006, 02:02 PM) *
Obviously, it's a false positive. Another one from AVG. Maybe it's time to get a better antivirus software...

Take a look here:
http://ffdshow.faireal.net/mirror/ffdshow/...ev2546-SSE2.exe
Note: we use to scan the files - with 2 antivirus solutions - before uploading them on servers.

well yes that can happen but ive just come back to your site to update my divx player software i have constantly recomended free codec.com to my freinds as a great site but now im afraid that has to stop as the site is becoming more commercial and im shore your not bothered who your advertiseing for are you within 2 mins of being on your site i recognised an advertising nasty,
euromix
QUOTE(quibbles @ Jun 6 2006, 11:33 PM) *
... the site is becoming more commercial

Can you give me more details? Why the site is becoming more commercial?

QUOTE
and im shore your not bothered who your advertiseing for are you within 2 mins of being on your site i recognised an advertising nasty,

You aren't right, we work with the best advertising networks and we need to keep the ads on site because somebody have to pay the servers and somebody have to maintain the site.

What nasty advertising did you find on our site(s)? All downloads hosted on our servers are spyware/adware/virus free, we don't use popups, installers... the layout of site is clean (less graphic, more content) and easy to use; i don't understand... what are you talking about?
FigVam
Euromix! Thanx a lot!
AVG might have resolved its problem. From today it doesn't say anything about virus in that file.
euromix
Welcome, although i think that you should thank to guys from AVG 'cause they like to play with false alarms smile.gif
thuongshoo
Admin! So exactly which caused AVG say like that ?
WindsorFox
I would like to know WHY the Divx 5.x codec I installed that I got from FC.C automatically installed the stinking Google toolbar with neither my knowledge nor my permission??? Does FC.C know about this or is this something done by Divx? The described action IMHO is almost as inappropriate as a trojan or virus.

I have AVG free on a very large number of computers and do not remember hearing about any false positives from users. It was rated very highly a couple of years ago.
euromix
Here is a quote from DivX homepage:
We decided to partner with Google to offer DivX users as many options as possible. The Google Toolbar and Google Desktop Search are free for you to choose, use or uninstall.

Read more here
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.