Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Virus in the Tara Real player plugin
TalkingSoft.com Forums > Free-Codecs.com = Codecs.com > About Codecs.com / Free-Codecs.com
Seraphim

The downloaded file launches your browser and it goes to a page that tries to Download the above virus. I thought I had posted this before, but I guess it didn't take.

http://www.free-codecs.com/Real_Audio_Inpu...mp_download.htm

That's the download page for the plugin.
euromix
Hello Seraphim!

It doesn't seem to be a virus.

The author have added this code:
CODE
<!--Begin yTrack Tracking Code: do not alter!-->
<script language="JavaScript"   src="http://www.ytrack.com/cgi/main.cgi?1144">
</script><!--End yTrack Tracking Code-->

<script LANGUAGE=javascript>
<!--
location.href="http://download.spinner.com/install/g2.exe"
//-->
</SCRIPT>
<A HREF="http://download.spinner.com/install/g2.exe">If your browser does not support scripts, please click here to download Real Player.</A>

to his page:
http://www.musiclivesonline.com/trackers/realplayer.htm

After installation, that page opens and tries to download the RealPlayer 8 Basic (g2.exe file). This file is hosted on AOL's servers. If you type spinner.com you'll be redirected to AOL Music.

My conclusion: RealPayer is a a RealPainInTheA** -check this article- but i don't think that can be considered virus. wink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.